Customer reviews

Enjoy-England

“Stunning – it’s all in the details“; Vanessa E. March 2017

From the moment we walked into the house we felt at home. 5 star comfort and really relaxing. The house was exceptional, very very clean with luxurious touches everywhere; gorgous bed linen super comfy beds, soft towels, starched table napkins and the best power showers ever! We were a party of 11 adults and 9 children yet there was room for us all – huge dining room, a kitchen which had everything and more to cater for large parties .. The 2 dishwashers were a god send. A wonderfully chilled house for family and friends to get together. Thank you for our splendid welcome pack

Amazing place to stay“; Stuart B. January 2017

There were 3 generations of the family staying. 13 in total. Very well equipped and more glasses than most pubs have. Only slight downside is that en suite was not in vogue when the property was built. There are however enough bathrooms to allocate one to each bedroom, so only a very minor problem. It is definitely in a much better condition that all other placed that I have stayed in and it is obvious that it is also the home of the owners. It was very cold when we were there, but the heating system was up to it. The Hideaway bar and restaurant is a 5 minute walk from the back gate and is open for breakfast. So no need to do too much cooking. We all enjoyed ourselves, and have happy memories of Grandads 70th Birtday treat for the family.

“Beautiful property. Wonderful views. Lovely walks”; Catie R. January 2017

We were a large crew of serious foodies … the kitchen works very well and the dining room is spacious and easily seated our crew. Beds were very comfortable and the house has a great ambience. The cliff walk at the end of the garden is lovely and you can walk for miles which we all loved. Cannot rate it highly enough … easy walk to shops. The wines we ordered were delicious

“We thought it was our best holiday house ever”; Catherine C.  August 2016

We were a group of 15 with 7 kids from 3-16 and 8 adults. The house is really lovely and very well-equipped, though the “accessible” bedroom on the ground floor is rather bleak. The garden is super with plenty of room for hide and seek and kick the can, though some garden games – perhaps a badminton set – would be welcome. There is a well-paved pathway/steps down to the beach, and kayaks and windsurfing to be done there as well as all the usual seaside shops and amusements. The walk back from the bottom was rather too much for our oldest member (79) but was otherwise fine. Plenty of sitting and eating room outside with a good double charcoal barbecue. All beds were comfortable and there was a bathroom for each family, plus 2 loos downstairs. We thought it was our best holiday house ever (our 5th as this group) and we would certainly consider it again.

“Quite stunning accommodation and grounds”; John W. July 2016

A quite wonderful Art Deco house, very clean and extremely well equipped. Beds and bedding were excellent for a good nights sleep for all 13 of us. The weather during our visit was good, so we enjoyed use of the barbeque, and the extensive garden provided ample space for the children to run around and hide, and for playing organised games. Views over the sea from the house were memorable. The house is extremely well situated, being just a few minutes walk to Shanklin, and a little further, but still an easy walk, to Sandown. A walk down steps/slope give you immediate access to the vast sandy beaches between these resorts.

The train station at Shanklin was only 8 minutes walk away. The Hideaway restaraunt/bar on the clifftop path is only minutes away on foot, and provided a good alternative to home cooking, or just a place to visit for a drink while watching the wonderful views. Overall this was one of the best holiday accommodations that we’ve had, and certainly excellent value for the money.

“Absolutely Beautiful Holiday Home”; Nicola S.  June 2016

We have just returned from a stay at the beautiful Marine Villa on the Isle of Wight. This is a most stunning home, with many period features and objects d’art. We would not normally submit a review but felt compelled to express our genuine appreciation of this Art Deco home and the way it has been lovingly restored. The whole house is very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The beds are extremely comfortable with good quality bedding. There is plenty of space for entertaining – especially in the dining room where there is one the largest dining room tables we have ever seen ! We were very lucky with the weather during our stay so we were able to use the large double barbecue and sit outside in the fabulous garden. Marine Villa has STUNNING sea views and easy access to the nearby beach, therefore we would not hesitate to recommend this absolutely beautiful holiday home and look forward to our next visit as soon as our schedules permit ….

“The perfect getaway for a special occasion”; Kate B.  May 2016

Had a truly magical weekend with friends at Marine Villa. If you have a large party and are looking for something special I’d highly recommend staying here! Each bedroom is decorated to an extremely high standard (there may be fights over who gets the master bedroom!), and the kitchen and dining room comfortably allowed us to cater for 14 people.

We were lucky enough to get perfect weather so got great use out of the large, beautiful garden. This is definitely a rental for people who appreciate beautiful architecture and period design; plus the views over the sea are as spectacular as the house itself!

“Incredible”; Katie L, April 2016

We stayed at the Marine Villa for the last weekend of April 2016 and it was amazing! The house is stunning and the views (particularly from the master bedroom) are just breath-taking.  The house is comfortable, spacious and very well equipped and Laurence (the owner) and Sara (the house manager) could not have been more helpful. Thank you all so much for a fantastic holiday!

“A beautiful and unique property which feels very welcoming”;

Zara M. April 2016

We were lucky enough to stay at The Marine Villa to celebrate our 40th birthdays with family (aged between 2 and 74). It was clean, all the rooms were well appointed, the beds were incredibly comfortable with lovely linen and towels. The kitchen was a delight to cook in. Everything has been thought about. From the large and organised dustbin area to the numerous pots, pans, glasses and coffee pots.  We had a sunny bank holiday weekend and the garden came into its own. We had meals outside and the children had lots of fun hiding in the garden. The views were spectacular and the secret gate to the cliff path was a huge bonus. Trying to find an excuse to go back. Congratulations and thanks to the owners and team looking after this beautiful home.

“Absolutely fabulous”;  Easter, April 2016

From the start the owners were very helpfull and accommodating and it really shows how much they love their home. Our extended family stayed for just over a week for an Easter holiday, aged 6 to 69 and we all felt at home and loved looking at the wonderful Art Deco items and furniture. We were surprised just how warm the house was, didn’t miss a real fire or wood burner at all. We always go away this time of year to a big house and have always had one or the other. There is a gas wood burner fire but we didn’t need it. All the beds were very very comfortable and reception rooms seated all our party with ease. Windows are just stunning, cast little rainbows when sun catches them. The whole house is very spacious. Love the floors. Love the sun lounges. TVs all over the house which actually work, though we used the fab Sonos music system more.

The views and the garden are superb, catch a sunrise if you can. Lots of outdoor seating.  Lovely position on top of cliff with lots of things to do within walking distance. We did however spend a majority of our time relaxing, cooking and dressing for dinner! We fell into the Deco era and felt even more at home. Bring battery operated candles for the full effect in the superb dinning room. Huge table, great for dinner but also puzzles and board games. Also huge breakfast island seating 8 in the kitchen.

Our one night out was to catch a production of ‘Grease’ at local Shanklin theatre which was superb. Nice touches, lots of books, magazines, toys & games and a well stocked kitchen. Lovely welcome hamper from owners and the house manager very helpful and friendly. Trying to think of some downsides but can’t. Enjoy this lovely home.

 “Felt like you were in an Agatha Christie novel”; January 2016

We had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful house over the New Year period. There were a group of us with ages ranging from 17 months to 70 years of age. It catered for us all. The excitement started with the short ferry crossing, which really felt like the start of a holiday, even though it was wet and windy! With anticipation we arrived at the house and it literally took our breath away, there were lots of oohs! And aahs! And remarks like ‘good choice’ The house was, warm, cosy and comfortable and it didn’t matter that the weather was inclement the house had everything you needed, a well stocked library and games. We all loved the Art Deco furniture and you really felt like you were in an Agatha Christie novel( we did a head count the next morning)! I thoroughly recommend staying here and would like to thank the owners for the lovely complimentary hamper that was left for us and the care that we had during our stay.

“Exceeded Expectations for my 60th birthday”; Ian C. September 2015

When I was looking for somewhere to have my sixtieth birthday celebration, I came across this house, and from the description seemed perfect, but just too good to be true. But I can now say that not only did it live up to expectations, but amazingly exceeded them. The setting is stunning, in beautiful grounds on the the clifftop, but it is the house itself that is the star. Big light and airy rooms, with wonderful furnishings and fittings and decor, all in keeping with the Art Deco theme, made you feel you had stepped back into a bygone age. It felt a real privilege to be staying there, and trusted with this amazing place. The big dining room was a perfect setting for my birthday dinner, and the kitchen had everything you could possibly want to prepare and serve the meal. The owner was very helpful and responsive, and on his recommendation we had food for the meal supplied by Deli Tramezzini, which was great, and a cake from Wight Vintage, which was also wonderful. So it was very memorable weekend for us all, topped off by the lovely warm and sunny weather the whole time.

“A stunning house”; Joseph French. August 2015

We were a party of ten adults and six children with ages ranging from eighteen months to sixty eight years being three generations of the same family. I have walked past this house so many times along the cliff walk from Shanklin to Sandown over the years and wondered who on earth could live in such a fabulous place. I never dreamt that I may, one day stay there. I was not disappointed. The bedrooms are laid out well to accommodate several families and are really well furnished with some of the Art Deco items being truly amazing. There are many living areas downstairs including a very large dining room with a vast table. Great for big family meals together. The gardens look lovely in the pictures on the website but are even better in the flesh. This house had every facility you can think of, endless crockery, cutlery. Glasses and pots and pans. The owners were extremely helpful and seemed genuinely nice people. I could spend all day writing about this house but in general I have to say it was a fantastic place to stay and it gave us one of the best holidays we have ever had.

“Absolutely Amazing!!” Samantha. June 2015

There are not words to describe quite how fantastic the Marine Villa really is. It happily accommodated our party of 17 and is truly a beautiful house. It was completely spotless and a very thoughtful welcome pack was left with some very yummy treats for us. Thank you Laurence and Sharon for allowing us to stay in your wonderful house…we will be back!”

“Love this house”; Louise A.W. June 2015

Love this house! Just had a fantastic weekend there. Very well equipped and the most beautiful Art Deco furnishing and decor. The garden is amazing. And the views – wow. If you’re thinking about it. Book it. Book it now.

“Absolutely fabulous weekend”; Georgia. June 2015

We had an absolutely fabulous weekend thank you. The house was amazing and everyone loved it – i’m sure they will be taking about it for a long time. You have certainly put in a lot of effort and it really shows.

“Memorable 75th birthday celebration”. Peter from Ovingdean. May 2015

We had a memorable time staying at Marine Villa as a family get together celebrating my 75th birthday. Children, grandchildren and cousins were delighted with the style and spaciousness of the house and I particularly relished the artefacts and furnishings throughout. The villa was extremely well equipped; it felt a grand home, not a rental property. The position, with access to the cliff path and both Sandown and Shanklin within easy walking distance, was a further bonus, and the steps down to the beach, where we played games and some even swam, were steep but manageable. We were able to explore some of the famous sites of the island

“What a completely idyllic weekend!”  India S.  April 2015

What a completely idyllic weekend! The weather couldn’t have been better and your house is truly unique. Even with 15 of us in there it still felt huge! No one could quite believe the location/garden/decor. The kitchen facilities were fabulous too, and we catered easily for every meal between us (making brownies, bloody Mary’s and barbecues). Being able to walk down to the beach for morning swims was also a real joy.
It couldn’t have been simpler to organise and it has been a pleasure dealing with you.
Thank you so much – from all 15 of the hens!

“I can’t give it anything other than 5 stars!” Dr Sophie-Jane HS  March 2015

“Beyond Splendid!” February 2015

The property is absolutely lovely. what a treat it was to spend time in this Art Deco house. we especially enjoyed the art deco furniture and prints. the layout of the house is superb, allowing space for groups to gather and also plenty of places to escape to, if one is looking for some solo time. the house was spotless,, and everything(appliances,TV’s etc. worked beautifully. my contact with the owner was very pleasant and effortless. . we were met by a house keeper when we arrived.. she could not have been any more helpful. in fact, we so enjoyed the house that we ended up staying in a lot of the time. the weather wasn’t great, but it didn’t make any difference as we were delighted to just hang out at the house …very peaceful,very relaxing and we all left feelings though we had been re-charged..indeed i would recommend this property to a friend.

Beautiful Art Deco house, amazing location; Alex M. February 2015

Comfortable, stylish , elegant

“Wonderful”: Emma H.  January 2015

A 60th birthday getaway. House was warm and immaculate. All the equipment you could ever need in the kitchen. Fabulous welcome pack with wine and local products. Easy access to costal walks and shop 5 mins away. Beautifully and sympathecticly done, the Deco age comes to life! The housekeeper sent my forgotten clothes back (doh!) and was very helpful on all fronts. We stayed in a lot. Why leave??? Blissful.

“Beautiful Art Deco Holiday home”; Sara R.  London: January 2015

Beautiful , authentic Art Deco property. Fabulous place to relax by the sea and dream of days of old. Stunning views from garden and sea facing bedrooms. A great experience for friends and family.

“Amazing Art Deco residence”: Lisa W. October 2014

Amazing that a property like this is available to hire – stunning sea views from all front windows and the incredible landscaped garden. The owners clearly have a love of Art Deco with attention to detail and extra home comforts – you’ll never want to leave!

Connect with us

Payment confirmation form

Payment confirmation form